What Happens if I Receive a DUI on a Virginia College Campus?
The consequences of a charge of driving under the influence (DUI) can be severe. The state of Virginia treats DUIs seriously, and those convicted of this crime will possibly face heavy penalties that will affect them for some time to come.
Unfortunately, the ramifications of a DUI conviction can be amplified when the crime was committed on a university campus, especially if the driver was a student of the school. In this case, the driver will likely face disciplinary action from the university, as well as any other criminal charges pressed by the state.
All is not lost, however, if you have been charged with driving under the influence on a campus in Virginia. You have many legal rights, both during a roadside stop, and throughout the rest of your case, and a violation of any of these can lead to a dismissal of your case. As such, if you’re wondering what to do in the aftermath of a DUI arrest on a Virginia college campus, don’t wait any longer; reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney in the area for immediate help.
What Will Happen to Students Charged with DUI on a College Campus?
Each university in Virginia carries its own regulations in regards to campus policies, and, as such, students will likely face different disciplinary actions depending on their school. For example, the student code of conduct published by West Virginia University asserts that students who drive while impaired will face university sanctions, while the standards of conduct set forth by the University of Virginia mention that a number of actions, including “conduct that intentionally or recklessly threatens the health or safety of any person on university-owned or -leased property,” will be cause for discipline.
Ultimately though, the outcome will likely be the same: students convicted of drinking and driving, either on or off the campus, will most certainly face disciplinary action by the school, which could include revocation of scholarships or financial aid, suspension, or expulsion. The final outcome depends on several factors regarding the circumstances.
Furthermore, many universities treat these matters separately from the associated criminal charges, and, as such, have different standards of proof. Students who are facing disciplinary action from a Virginia college for driving under the influence are encouraged to contact a legal professional immediately for advice on how to move forward.
Criminal Penalties for DUI
Of course, in addition to disciplinary action from the school, students convicted of DUI also face serious criminal penalties, as well. Specifically, pursuant to Virginia law, a first-time DUI offense is treated as a class 1 misdemeanor punishable by a fine of between $250 and $2,500 and a one-year license suspension. Jail time is unlikely for a first-time DUI, unless there were minors in the car or the driver’s BAC was exceptionally high.
For additional DUI convictions, however, the penalties increase dramatically. Drivers convicted of a second DUI will face additional fines and potential incarceration, although it is still considered a class 1 misdemeanor. A third conviction, however, is a class 6 felony, which carries jail time and an indefinite driver’s license revocation.
Don’t Fight the Charges Alone – Contact Us Today
There is no sense in facing the legal system alone. If you have been charged with a DUI on a Virginia college campus the talented attorneys at St. John, Bowling, Lawrence & Quagliana, LLP can protect your rights, and assist you through the disciplinary proceedings held by the school. We have 50 years of combined experience serving clients in Charlottesville, and we will guide you throughout each step of your criminal case. We are prepared to begin working on your behalf today. Don’t hesitate to call us at 434-296-7138 for more information.